What I wish I’d known (Part 1)

Over the next few days I am going to introduce the five things I wish I’d known as a beginning writer. My draft got a little long-winded so I will present it in five installments. Check back over the next few days.

I am not one to create lists. I don’t like to do things in any sort of order or to check things off the list. That’s just one of the things that makes me, me. With that being written, I do have a list of five things I wish I’d known when I was starting out writing.

This list isn’t comprehensive to every experience, but it covers what I wish I knew when I was starting out. I am not saying it would have changed my mind and I would not have become a writer. No, on the contrary, I would have been a better writer sooner.

1. Writing is hard

This is something that many writers will not tell you. Writing is hard. That’s right. You read it here. Writing is hard. At times, it is downright impossible. I never knew how difficult it would be to sit down at the computer or my writing desk and put pen to paper. Making things up can be easy and fun, at least it should be, but for the most part it is not. It takes work, dedication and a schedule. It is hard to be a dedicated writer in the hustle and bustle of today. But if you really want to be a better writer, you have to understand that it takes time.

Writing for long periods of time can also make you tired, anxious, and irritable. Writing takes a toll on your body. I slouch when I write so many times I have a sore back when I am done. Sometimes I write until my hands ache and my wrists are sore. I guess you can say that I suffer for my art.

Many authors that are famous today took time to write. They showed dedication to their task. One of my favorite authors, William Goldman, hates writing. He has produced great works, but because the task takes so long, he doesn’t do it any longer. I really wish he would. I have loved almost every novel and movie he has been a part of.

Come back tomorrow to see number two (rewriting)

4 thoughts on “What I wish I’d known (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: What I Wish I’d Known (Part 2) | T. Marcus Christian

  2. Pingback: What I wish I’d known (Part 3) | T. Marcus Christian

  3. Pingback: T. Marcus Christian

  4. Pingback: What I wish I’d known (Part 5) | T. Marcus Christian

Leave a Reply

